Miles Hewitt photo

Peru, IN - City Police Officer Miles Hewitt defeated his two Republican challengers to win his party’s nomination for Mayor of Peru on Tuesday with 59.73% of the vote.

With only 13.8% of the city’s eligible voters taking part in this year’s municipal Primary Election, Hewett received 448 votes. Wayne Bunker finished second with 23.47% of the votes cast. David Makin was third with 16.80%.

Hewett was all smiles at Republican Headquarters on Tuesday evening.

“This wasn’t about Miles Hewitt, Wayne Bunker or Dave Makin, it was about moving the city of Peru forward,” said Hewitt. “I think each of us have some good ideas and I hope to work with each one of the other candidates to ensure victory this fall.”

In the other contested Republican races, Kathleen L. Plothow and Andrea J. Harris won the two City-County At-Large races. Plothow lead all three candidates with 40.66% of the vote, Harris had 33.92% and finishing third was Lora A. Disbro with 25.42%.

City Councilman Blane C. Holland won his party’s nomination for a second term defeating Joseph Molyneux. Holland had 64.02% of the vote to Molyneux’s 35.98%.

You can see the complete election results by clicking the link below.

Candidates will face off in the November 5, 2019, General Election.